Veteran Pacer Lasith Malinga was left out as Sri Lanka announced a 15-man squad for the one T20I against South Africa on August 14.

Despite his cracking form in the recently concluded Global T20 league in Canada, Malinga didn’t find a place in the squad. He last played in one-off T20 against India in September last year.

The 34-year-old pacer has been in and out of the Sri Lanka team owing to his poor form and injury woes, ESPNcricinfo reported.

He retired from tests back in 2011. In February this year, he had said that he was considering retirement.

Among others, left-arm pacer Binura Fernando earned his call after a gap of three years while all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva recalled in the T20I after almost 20 months owing to his good performance in the ongoing ODI series.

  1. Angelo Mathews (c)
  2. Upul Tharanga
  3. Dinesh Chandimal
  4. Kusal Mendis
  5. Lahiru Kumara
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva
  7. Dasun Shanaka
  8. Binura Fernando
  9. Shehan Jayasuriya
  10. Shehan Madushanka
  11. Kusal Perera (wk)
  12. Thisara Perera
  13. Lakshan Sandakan
  14. Akila Dananjaya
  15. Jeffrey Vandersay.

Also Read: Sri Lanka defeats SA by 3 runs in the 4th ODI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here