Image Courtesy:

Australia beat India in the first T20I held at Gabba, Brisbane on Wednesday.

India won the toss and opted to bowl. Aussies scored 158/4 in 16 overs. Glenn Maxwell hit 46 runs, Stoinis scored unbeaten 33. Skipper, Aaron Finch contributed 27 runs and Chris Lynn too scored 37 runs.

In reply, India were set a target of 174 in 17 overs (D/L method) as rain killed 7 overs of the game.

India didn’t start well losing Rohit Sharma (7) early but Shikhar Dhawan scored 76(42). Captain, Virat Kohli was dismissed for 4 runs. KL Rahul too got stumpted for just 13 runs.

Krunall Pandya gave away 55 runs in 4 overs.

However, the momentum was shifted by Dinesh Karthik (30) and Rishabh Pant (20) in India’s favour but they got out and Aussies draw the first blood with a 4 runs win.

Adam Zampa picked 2 wickets for 22 runs.

Note: Earlier, In 2016 India defeated Aussies 3-0 in their backyard.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here