Aussies on Saturday beat India by 34 runs to register 1K match wins across all format.

Aussies scored 288/5 in 50 overs after opting to bat.
Peter Handscomb scored 73 while Marcus Stoinis provided finishing touches scoring unbeaten 47.
Earlier Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh hit half-centuries scoring 59 and 54 respectively.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav claimed 2 wickets each.

In reply, India were 4/3 in 3.5 overs but MS Dhoni (51) and Rohit Sharma (133) took them to a respectable score.
However, India ended 35 runs short of the target and lost the match by 34 runs.

Debutant Jhye Richardson claimed 4 wickets while Jason Behrendorff and Marcus Stoinis scalped 2 wickets each.

Jhye won Man of the Match title.

Australia is 1-0 ahead in the three-match ODI series. The next match will be held at Adelaide on January 15.

Rohit Sharma who now has scored 4 tons in Australia holds the record of most tons against hosts. Overall he scored his 22nd ton, 10th in the chase (second in a losing cause).

MS Dhoni who scored 51 off 96 was given lbw out but, later it was found that it was not out but the men in blue were left with no reviews. His strike rate also bothered later as Dinesh Karthik (12) and Ravindra Jadeja (8) failed to provide finishing touches.

Kedar Jadhav and Yuzvendra Chahal didn’t get a place in the playing XI while the duo of KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya are flown back after a further statement on their remarks in a reality show that aired earlier this week.

Jasprit Bumrah was rested so Mohd. Shami was rewarded a chance on the back of his recent test performance to prove himself in the colorful jersey.

The same applies to Nathan Lyon who replaced Adam Zampa in the Aussie squad.

Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, and Handscomb seemed well recovered from their lows in red ball cricket but failed to score big in the first encounter of the limited overs match at SCG.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here